Watch this movie: The Sterile Cuckoo

I stumbled upon a great movie tonight on TCM called The Sterile Cuckoo.  It’s from 1969, a story about a straight-laced guy and a crazy bitch and their doomed romance. Think The Way We Were, but 4 years earlier and less mawkish.

Liza is the crazy bitch.  I don’t need to tell you her last name.  She’s extremely young and extremely awkward and a really interesting character.  I’m immune to the effect of Liza as a gay icon. For whatever reason she just doesn’t do it for me.  Her brand of crazy just seems a little too chaotic for me. I don’t think we could be friends in real life. Therefore I can tell you with all objectivity that she really is great in the role. Her character is this social reject who wills her way into a relationship with a quiet and kind of awkward guy. Their portrayal of being young and in love was so convincing, it actually made me feel things.  The writing is fast and smart, the music is great.  It has a sixties look to the color and texture of the film that may be a turn off to some, but it’s nostalgic to me so I like.

So if you’ve got the nuts to sit through a Liza movie, give this one a try.  You won’t be disappointed.

Here’s some clips courtesy of the youtube pirates in case I’ve piqued your curiosity.

Here’s a short clip from the beginning before she gets really nuts:

And another from later on:

2 Responses to “Watch this movie: The Sterile Cuckoo”


  1. 1 davidinfanger December 2, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Once again you’ve searched all nooks and crannies to find the finest that cinema has to offer. I’ll look into this one; Sam and I were also talking: what’s that documentary about Amish people becoming adults and having a two year free-for-all?

  2. 2 The Anatomist December 3, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    Ah, you’re thinking of Devil’s Playground. Look for the cover that has an amish teen girl in bonnet and all lighting a cigarette in the back seat of a mid-90s sedan.


Leave a Reply

