Idol semifinals

Oh for the days when Sindel was still in the competition

Okay, two posts in one day, I’m clearly out of control, but I had to post this today or it wouldn’t be timely. Last night was the AI semifinals. I have to say I don’t like any of the final three really, but I think it’s weird how dismissive the judges were of Syesha as the least likely contender. I think Randy even said something like “you’re peaking at the right time and that allows you to stand here as number 3.” Um, thanks? Since when were the two Davids the anointed finalists? I guess since they have the most insane cultish fan bases they’ll probably be the finalists, but isn’t that the dark secret about AI that the judges at least pretend doesn’t exist? If I had a nickel for every time they say “this is a singing contest” I wouldn’t have nearly as much credit card debt.

I just don’t think that the Davids are that much better as singers. David A has some kind of anatomical gift so his tone is perfectly round all the time, but the pint-sized wonder can’t sing anything rhythmic to save his life. And David C has all kinds of vocal style talents and ridic range, but takes the smarm and facial theatrics to a place I never want to be. Of course Syesha is a predictable diva singer without a whole lot of obvious soul, but she sings her style of songs really well. Why did the producers have her sing that ridiculous Gia Farrell Hit Me Up song? So that she’d suck and get voted off so they could stage the “showdown of the Davids” and pump up the publicity for an already poorly watched season. I’m sure they want to avoid another Daughtry elimination and backlash from the fans. Personally, I’m longing for the days when Sindel was still tearing her vocal cords apart weekly (see above).

In other reality news, I was glad to see Marissa get the boot from DWTS. Now I’m pulling for Christian as the underdog. Plus he’s smoking hot (IMHO) and I’d love to see another Latin lover take the title. Screw Kristi, she never figured out how to express passion on the dance floor after all these weeks.

D

1 Response to “Idol semifinals”


  1. 1 David May 14, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    If you squint your eyes that chick in the picture looks like the lion from The Wizard of Oz. Welcome to the world of Blogging D, I’ll look forward to your insight.

    And since we’re giving honest opinions, ‘winner’ and ‘panda’ don’t belong in the same sentence.

    (insert Benny Hill smile)


Leave a Reply

