Don’t worry it’s just me

Hey there, thanks for coming to my brand new sparkly blog. I’ve been thinking about starting a blog in earnest for some time, but I’ve had trouble narrowing my focus onto a particular theme or avenue of my life. I never really did figure that out, but maybe a focus will reveal itself over time.

I call my webpage “theanatomist” because that is my job. I am an anatomy professor at a large medical school. I also think that I tend to see the world and my own life from the perspective of an anatomist. When I teach anatomy, one of the biggest messages I try to convey is the connectedness and relatedness of the body. Every muscle is somehow related to every bone, nerve, artery, etc. through an elegant system of attachments, both visible and invisible. This connectedness really matters in a clinical situation where one thing is injured leading several others to topple like dominoes. Similarly, there is remarkable connectedness between bodies. Once you get the skin and fat off, we’re all pretty much the same parts arranged in exactly the same way. I see everything in my life and the world as incontrovertibly linked. I remember the first time I had the realization that I am a part of everything else, and everything else is a part of me. I felt strangely safe.

When I think about why I decided to devote my career to the study of anatomy, it doesn’t take me long to come up with the reason. It’s simple – I want to be able to construct an entire human being by myself in my mind. From the cells to the tissues to the organs to the whole crazy functioning body, leaving no stone unturned. Of course this is probably impossible, but it leaves me with a place to go in a science that is in many ways no longer changing.

Outside of my professional life, I think most people who know me would describe me as funny, smart, easy-going and caring. I find myself to be predictable, unmotivated and a chronic quitter. I’ll concede to being funny, smart, easy-going and caring, but that’s not what I see right away. Funny how that works. The one person who probably sees all of these things is my partner Jason. He and I share our life together in Iowa City, the proud owners of an ever-growing pet family. In some ways we’re the so much the same (love of lifelong learning, need for quiet time away from the world), in others we are complete opposites (organization [me lots, him none], creativity [him lots, me none]). In other words, we suit each other perfectly.

I hope you enjoy this and hopefully many forthcoming blogettes. You can expect to read stories about my life in the academic world, good times with friends and family (sorry lolcats haters, but pets are included in that), and the adventures of two definitely hip but decidedly unfabulous gay guys in Iowa who just bought their first house together.

Peace,

D

2 Responses to “Don’t worry it’s just me”


  1. 1 Mel May 13, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    I’m rssing you.

  2. 2 Bluebell April 8, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    I find your blog to be very interesting! (: I especially like how you give us a forewarning before we get to read about the interesting ways of the body, haha.


Leave a Reply

