Chick Wins a Million Dollars on Wheel of Fortune – What?!

Attention all people who thought Wheel of Fortune was no longer on the air! Last night this chick won a million bucks on that show! Wheel used to be the lamest of TV game shows with contestants rarely winning more than 50K on an episode. All that changed this year with the addition of an extremely complicated million dollar space on the big wheel.

I imagine that I am one of the only people who still watches Wheel of Fortune, at least one of the only ones under 65 years of age. I understand that it is comically boring, the contestants are typically half-wits, and the Pat and Vanna shtick is definitely dated. But I am really good at solving their puzzles, and sometimes a little ego boost is just what I need in my 6:30 time slot.

So anyway, they added this new piece on the big wheel that is a normal size piece divided in thirds. The two outer thirds are bankrupts and the middle part is a million dollars. Okay, so if you happen to land on that middle part, you get to pick up the piece and put it on your little podium. You then have to not get bankrupted for the whole rest of the show. Then if you manage to get the highest money total, you get to go to the bonus round and spin the mini wheel (which has sealed envelopes containing prizes like a trip or a car or 30,000 dollars, there is one slot on the big wheel with 100,000 dollars). If you have the million piece, then they replace the 100,000 envelope with a million dollar envelope. If you happen to have picked that envelope (1 in 25 chance) and you solve the bonus round puzzle, then you win the million. When Pat first explained this a couple weeks ago, I assumed no one would ever win it because it’s so complicated, but sure enough last night some lady beat the odds and took home the million.

Way to go Michelle, it was awesome to see the explosions of confetti and her Vanna hug. But seriously, it would have been even more cool if she hadn’t been able to solve and then opened up the envelope. The whole world would have wept. At least the senior citizens of the world. And me.

Below I pasted the video of her bonus round from youtube. See if you can solve the puzzle and win a million. If you can’t, there’s something wrong with you.

4 Responses to “Chick Wins a Million Dollars on Wheel of Fortune – What?!”


  1. 1 Marie November 5, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    OMG, that just made me smile from ear to ear wactching that video! Good things do happen to good people sometimes!

  2. 2 rctodd November 22, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    I would just like to say that not all the people who watch Wheel of Fortune are old…I watch it and I’m 22. I will say however, that I watch it because it reminds me of my grandmother and when we watched it together. And yeah, totally, the puzzles are super easy!

  3. 3 Laurie October 27, 2012 at 2:53 am

    I like wheel because it’s not winner take all. I’m under 65, not a half-wit and even tried to audtion once at one of those “wheel bus” events.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

